New Cruiser Financial Questions

I am fairly new to cruising. I have taken two 3-night cruises on RCI, and I have a 13-night repositioning cruise through the Panama Canal booked in October.

I’ve recently discovered CC, and have been reading through the forums. I’ve learned quite a bit, but I have a few questions.

• I have plans to book an Alaska cruise in 2010. At that time I will have 4 cruise credits, but the Alaska cruise will bring me up to 5, giving me Platinum C&A status. Will I be considered being Platinum on that cruise, or on the next one? At what point will I be able to take advantage of the perks?
  • Are cruise credits earned by taking a Carnival cruise? If so, are C&A perks applicable to Carnival cruises?
  • I have read where people are taking advantage of drops in prices. Are the only people who are able to take advantage of these drops those who have guarantee reservations? I made my reservations through AAA…can I call them and let them know the prices have come down? Oh, and how do you know if the prices are reduced on your cabin?
  • Now that I am an empty-nester and have been bitten by the cruise bug, I am considering buying stock in RCI in order to take advantage of the shareholder benefits. Please share your opinion on this. Is this a wise thing to do? Is there anything I should know before I do this?
  • I will be 55 in summer 2010. I’ve noticed there may be 55+ discounts. How much is that usually?
  • Do you find it better to book your next cruise on board, or to wait and go through a travel agent?

A few non-financial questions:

• Are guests allowed on board on embarkation day, and how soon before sailing do they need to disembark.
  • How far in advance does RCI normally post their cruises? I’ve not been able to find any information for a summer 2010 Alaska cruise.