1st time cruiser for wedding.. need help!

thisisnk23

hello, i'm a newbie to this site and it has been great! I am going to be a first time cruiser and we are planning on going on a cruise that stops at st. thomas for our wedding.. I've been over to the wedding board and they have been great there.. but I was just wondering if anyone had any recommendations on cruise lines.. we are both in our mid 20's and I was thinking that since this is our wedding/honeymoon all in one that an adults only cruise would be a good idea.. anyone have any input on this?? There are just so many cruise lines and so many ships out there that it is overwhelming! Also, any recommendations on what type of cabin to get would also be very helpful! Thanks a lot!

Hi,

Typically there are very few cruises without kids. That being said, for the most part they aren't as disruptive as you would think since cruise ships are huge and often have children's programs that take them out of the general fray.

In general, if you avoid Disney, NCL, and Carnival you will probably encounter less children. Incidently, it seems as if the less children there are, the older the average age... so research your cruise line to try to get a nice balance. It also depends on your style- formal vs informal, heavy drinker vs. nondrinker, and time of year (summer and spring break are child heavy times).

Katie

Out of nine cruises, we've only had problems with unruly children on only one cruise, and they were all from the same extended family with parents who could not that their kids were running around unsupervised. The rest of the kids were well-behaved and most likely, like my 8-yr-old, were busy with the kids' program (my girl says she never saw any of these kids in the kids' rooms).

All in all, I rather be on a cruise with 1000 well-behaved kids than with 50 adult jerks.

But if it is important for you, then you should consider: