Islander? Buck Island conflicting reports?

OC PAT

Hello, again Islander. I feel as if I know you personnally as your advise through the years has been fantastic and made our cruises a wonderful experience.

Why is there so many opposite report on Buck Island? Some say it's great snorkeling and others compain that the coral has died and not worth the trip. We were looking for a small sailing adventure and snorkeling. It seems it is a bit of a time wise trip and could be or not an excellent experience. Would we be better off jusdt going to Dorch (SP?) Beach? We are 58 and 60 now, have our own snorkling equipment, love beautiful Virgin Island beaches! If we do Buck Island can you share the names of sailing venders who keep their groups small?

Thanks again for all you wise advise and help. We will be on this cruise in December and in St. Thomas as well. We do owe you a drink or two so I'll be looking for you!

OC PAT

Ok, so I am not a local expert, but just to offer my bit of Buck Island Snorkeling thoughts: I wouldnt say the coral is dead...I would say the fish are few and far between. I was very disappointed with our snorkel trip which was May 14th this year. The coral was actually sort of neat to look at...I hadnt seen coral like on my other snorkel trips...but its not neat enough to make me go back nor recommend this trip to anyone. There just arent enough fish to look at...

I've been snorkeling in Cancun, Maui, Bora Bora and probably a few other places but this St. Croix trip was the worst as far as the fish go...the group that took us was wonderful! we had a blast and the other people on the trip were also fun (we went with Big Beards). Unfortunately, I was still disappointed with the end result being that my most favorite thing of my vacation is the snorkeling trips...