Over night in Alexandria suggestions

juanarcin

Hello, I will be arriving to alexandria on oct 6th for an over night stay. I am there from 10am on the 6th to 10pm on the 7th. I would love to do the obvious, Pyramids, sphinx and museum, but I have very little knowledge of what else there is. I am sure there is tons more (i just purchased my ticket so I am starting to do my research!), I would LOVE if anyone could give me suggestions on hotels, food, and must see sights. Also doing it myself vs a guided tour/excursion. Thanks!

Hello, I will be arriving to alexandria on oct 6th for an over night stay. I am there from 10am on the 6th to 10pm on the 7th. I would love to do the obvious, Pyramids, sphinx and museum, but I have very little knowledge of what else there is. I am sure there is tons more (i just purchased my ticket so I am starting to do my research!), I would LOVE if anyone could give me suggestions on hotels, food, and must see sights. Also doing it myself vs a guided tour/excursion. Thanks!

By doing it yourself, I am hoping you mean on a private tour that you arrange, rather than a ship-sponsored tour.

But if by DIY you mean really doing it yourself, please know that it's a three-hour drive, each way, from Alexandria to Cairo/Giza. Egyptian traffic is beyond insane. Not just the volume, but the lunacy; seven cars across the width of the road driving in space for three, stuff like that. Total insanity.