Explorer RFS Suite Help and General Help

Hi.

We booked a RFS on the Freedom . I have no idea what to expect as to the obstructed view I have seen mentioned or to what the amenities/perks are in a suite nowadays.

Please be patient, I am new at this Cruise Critic thing. But i appreciate any tips/comments or pictures on suite 8714 , dining, helpful Explorer stuff...

Do we need to make show and restaurant reservations ahead of time? I forgot to ask the Crown and Anchor agent. Any tips for someone who has not cruised in over 2 years?

Thank you

Elizabeth

I don't see an 8714 at all....there are 2 RFS on the aft....if that's what you booked, the "obstruction" is having to look past more of the ship before the wake comes into view...it's not a stand at the rail and look down at the water thing.

The only show that MIGHT require a ticket will be the ice show....and there is no charge for that....it's a crowd control thing. All of the other shows are scheduled around the 2 traditional seating times.

Edit: I wrote the message below based on your being on the Explorer. Are you on that ship or on the Freedom? Aa I reread your post, I see that you say that you booked a RFS on the Freedom, but then, you seem to be asking questions about the Explorer. I took this to mean that while you were on the Freedom, you booked a cruise on the Explorer. I think I am confused - a farily normal state for me. :)

The two RFS on Deck 8 on the Explorer are 8394 and 8694. The cabin number you mentioned is the correct one on a Freedom Class ship (Freedom, Liberty or Independence). We just had 8414 on the Liberty when we were on a charter cruise with our neighbors. We loved it.

The cabin layout is a little different on the Voyager Class ships. Here is a link to some pictures of 8394.

http://s848.photobucket.com/albums/ab46/silvercrikhix/Royal%20Caribbean%20Explorer%20OTS%20Motorcycle%20Cruise/Explorer%20of%20the%20Seas/