CP Emerald Minis - Covered to the railing?

madelinerose

Hi...I'm new to Princess and have searched and searched, but can't seem to find a definitive answer.

I know that the CP Emerald Deck Mini suites are "totally" covered, but does that mean all the way to the balcony railing? If so, is there absolutely no sun whatsoever? :confused:

My cruise will be on the new Crown, but the Caribbean seems to be the closest match so far.

Thanks, everyone!

So funny! I just made 2 calls to Princess within the last hour. Two different reps absolutely confirmed, after putting me on hold for a short while, that on the new Crown, the Dolphin & Emerald mini suites will have totally uncovered balconies just like the Caribbean Princess!:confused:

When I explained that according to Cruise Critic members who have sailed on the Caribbean, the Emerald balconies are totally covered, both reps were completely baffled. :D

I hear you teach223! :eek:

Do you know if the balcony overhang goes all the way to the railing?

Princess reps assured me last year that mini-suite balconies on the Dolphin deck were half covered and half open. They were totally uncovered.

Caribbean Princess has a tiered balcony system. Dolphin deck balconies are totally uncovered. The lifeboats hang from this deck. As you go higher from Dolphin deck, the balconies become more covered. I think the Emerald mini-suites are covered, but they are also over Club Fusion. Some have said it is quite noisy above this area. I also agree most of the Princess Reps are not familiar with the ships enough to know what is completely covered, partially covered, or totally open.

As long as the sun is not directly above the ship, like at noon, some sun should shine on the balcony. Depending on the direction you are traveling, it will either be during the morning hours or the afternoon hours. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.