Dock/Tender logistics

harborchick

Hello,

I am a total newbie to cruising and have a rather basic question. If the itinerary for my ship (the Windspirit) says we will be in port at “8:00 am”, does that mean I can book a book an outside shore excursion that meets on dock at 8:00 am? Having never cruised before, I am unsure of the logistics and time involved in getting off the ship. For this particular question, the port is non-tendered.

I am also curious how it works for a tendered port. If the itinerary says “8:00 am”, what’s a safe time to meet a private shore excursion? Also, do tenders run back and forth all day? Do they wait for a big group of people to accumulate either on the ship or on shore before running them?

Thanks so much!

To answer one of your questions, Windstar runs the tenders all day long when in port. Believe they run every 30 minutes if I recall correctly.

Getting off the ship in port is no problem. Takes just a couple of minutes. Most shore excursion companies are completely familiar with the ships process and timing. They will know when to meet you at the ship.

As for getting off in a tendered port, that is no real issue compared to the large ships. Windstar will put a couple of tenders in the water and just about everyone will be able to get off within a short time. They will typically give priority to people on their shore excursions so you might need to wait for the second tender.

Our experience with docking/tendering on the Wind Spirit has been similar to what lovecruisingtoo describes. Yes, the tour companies are very familiar with the various cruise ship schedules and make their plans accordingly.

We just got off a B2B with 11 port days (including our changeover day) and I think we tendered at all but Venice and the second half of our first visit to Kotor.

There were a couple of days that it took longer than expected to clear the ship, I think Hvar was the one that was most delayed, that one was almost an hour behind.