Denali NP: What's between Mile 53 and Mile 66?

paylady

I actually have two questions for all you Denali NP experts out there:

Many posts on this board recommend the shuttle bus vs. the TWT. I've read on some posts that the view of the mountain, assuming it's out, is better after mile 53 but before Eielson. What exactly is between Mile 53 and Mile 66 that makes it a vastly superior experience to the TWT?

Also, DH is 6'1" and really doesn't like to be cramped between close seats. Is there any difference between the seat spacing on the TWT and the shuttles?

I've checked our itinerary and it appears we would have time for either of these two options. Both would be the last tour of the afternoon.

I'm no expert but here's some info I've learned over the years. The Denali web site used to have a graph that showed the locations of various wildllife along the park road. Prime bear viewing started just before Polychrome Pass around mile 40 and continued to mile 60. So, the more time you spend along the road in a prime viewing area, the more opportunity there is for sightings. So those extra 7-8 miles provide more opportunity to see bears. Having said that ... they are wild animals so they'll be where they want to be. There were several trip reports last yr where people had to stay inside the Eielson Visitor Center or on the bus due to a bear in the parking lot.

As for the seating .... they started to change out the school buses 2 yrs ago. I don't know if they've all been replaced or not. Perhaps call the park and ask ?

I'm only 5'7" so it's not a problem for me. Get to WAC a little early so you can choose your seat ... you don't want to get stuck with a hump seat ( on either bus). Both the tour and shuttle buses stop every 90 minutes at a rest area for a 10-15 minute potty break so he'll have a chance to get out and stretch.

Try this website: http://www.alaska.org/guide/denali-park-road for a Denali Park Road Guide.