Oriana Grand Voyage 2006

FeliciaLee

Hi! Newbie here. I have some questions about P&O UK, but I'll tell you a little bit about myself first, so that you will be better able to answer.

I am an American, 36 years old, married, no children. Took an "early retirement" from AOL (not by choice).

Since my first cruise, back in 2002 on Holland America's Ryndam, I have had one goal; to take a longer cruise. My intentions have always been to go on a world cruise or at least something that will allow 30 days or longer on the same ship.

Unfortunately, since November of 2002, I've had some stumbling blocks and been unable to go on another cruise. Things are just starting to clear up now.

I am a diabetic, and one thing that I loved about cruising was the ability to closely monitor my blood sugar. Over the past seven years, I've come up with a formula that seems to work well for me. I use pre-digested protein powder, which I make into "protein shakes," in order to prevent the huge swings in sugar. While I'm not 100% successful, it is better than living on insulin and candy! I don't have to do pills, shots or a pump. The protein is not a drug, per se, but it does help my sugar maintain some sort of balance, rather than making wild swings from 400 to 40.

So on a ship, I can get the ingredients I need at any time. I mostly just put some coffee into my shaker bottle, creamer, ice, protein and shake it up. It comes out tasting somewhat like an iced cafe mocha.

In addition, on a ship, if I feel fatigued or weak, I can simply go rest. Unlike a land trip, I am not stuck 30 miles from our hotel. I can participate when I wish, rest when I wish. My husband can continue whatever activity we were engaged in, while I return to the cabin. It works out very well.