Winward Islands Royal Clipper - question about cabins

anitac

Hello

The husband and I are looking to book the Royal Clipper cruise (Winward Islands) in Feb 2017. This will be our first cruise (ever!) so we are total newbies to the whole cruising thing but looks like it will be a brilliant experience.

We are looking at the Cat. 1 v Cat. 2 cabins but I think we are veering toward the category 2 cabins ... but we are unsure which specific category 2 cabin on the Clipper deck would suit best.

I'm uncertain if either of us is going to be affected by motion sickness and have been told that mid-deck is best. We'd rather be away from main walkways / 'heavy traffic' areas so which cat 2 cabin is the better one to select on this deck?? Looking at the deck plan, am thinking cabins 258, 245, 260 or 247 may be the better selections on this deck - but not sure.

I don't imagine we'd be spending much time in the cabin but nevertheless would like to make a good selection.

Also I wonder if our concern about the category 1 cabins lacking privacy out the cabin's window is misplaced (which is primarily why we're no longer considering the category 1 cabins).

Appreciate any advice on specific category selection.

Thanks so much

Anita :)

I believe "Category 1" is just 315 and 316 at the stern. I don't think they had much in the way of windows, but would have curtains and are a bit lower than the open stern deck for privacy. Personally, I wouldn't use these.

But, if you are willing to spend the money, I would go for the Deluxe suites 301-314. They have large windows and your own balcony that is quite private. We've been in these twice now. I would avoid 313-314 as they open on to the deck, have kind of an odd shape, and for some reason used physical keys instead of a card.

Categories 2-4 are all somewhat similar with just a porthole for a window, with Category 2 slightly larger.