Dairy Free Dietary Requirement Review - Discovery Princess

FunTimeIsSunTime

I thought I'd take some time to give a review of my experience with a dietary requirement as when I was looking for information there wasn't a whole lot that applied to my situation. We were on the 2nd sailing of the Discovery Princess out of Los Angles along the California Coast. I wanted to included this as your experience may be slightly different than mine. I have recently taken dairy out of my diet due to health reasons so I'm not an expert and can have a little bit dairy so if there was a slip up it wasn't a big deal. I do not like seafood but do eat meat. This seemed to be the biggest barrier for me. 

I did use the princess form in the Medallion App to indicate my requirement ahead of time and they emailed me to confirm about a week before the actual cruise. When we arrived at the dining room I informed the hostess and the server. They both seemed very (overly?) concerned and left it to the manager. The manager came to talk with me and he was my link to ordering all of my meals in the dining room. He was very good. The first night I ordered things I absolutely knew were safe (house salad, chicken breast with roasted veggies and potatoes). My meal came from a different kitchen that is specifically for dietary requirements. I then would look at the next night's menu and order with the manager. He was quite knowledgeable about many of the things on the menu. Like the cold pina colada soup has heavy cream in it (insert sad face here). I was a little discourage because he kept steering me towards roasted vegetables and roasted potatoes for every main course. I could definitely mix and match from the main courses. One night I chose beef but the fish option had asparagus, he was happy to give me asparagus as my veggie. Don't be afraid to ask for something. If they can do it they will.