Advice for a semi-newbie with a new camera

ChanaC

I'm very much a newbie-ish amateur photographer, and mostly self taught. For over 10 years I used a Canon Powershot SX30 IS, which had a pretty decent attached lens. I played around with the manual settings and I think I got some really good shots out of it over the years. I took it to Alaska last year and while I did get some great images I could tell the camera was on it's last leg. Plus, I hated how slow it was, especially with the zoom, and because of it I think I missed some good action shots, like of whales. I also really wanted to step up to a "real" camera with an attached lens, and to have a little more control over the camera in general.

After a lot of researching, I just bought a Canon EOS M50 Mark II, and two lens (15-45mm and 55-200mm). I scrolled though this thread and found a lot of great advice, but does anyone have any tips for a relative newbie? I'm going back to Alaska this year. I personally love taking landscapes, especially in Alaska where there are some amazing sights, but we're also going on a sea otter and wildlife tour and I'm hoping I'll be able to get some nice shots on that. I know I may not have the fanciest camera body nor the longest lens, but the good thing about Alaska is that the surroundings are so beautiful I can't imagine screwing up any photo that badly! I'm trying to get out around my town now and practice (especially at some local gardens). I just bought a new case (that comes with a waterproof cover - great for Alaska) and will take the camera plus both lenses, although admittedly the new case is a little large and bulky to carry around.

• Like 1