Sony a6400 lens recommendation - Alaska June 2024

Hi All,

I have a Sony a6400 with the kit lens 16-50mm and I'm new to manual setting cameras. I bought a used Sony 55-210mm to practice taking dog agility and sports shots which after some research on good manual settings I got some decent shots. I was thinking of getting a used Sony 70-350mm to get even better action shots, but now that we are going on a cruise to Alaska in June of 2024 I thought maybe I should spend more and get a lens with more reach.

So I'm reaching out to you all to get some advice and recommendations. I would love to get some good shots from our aft balcony as well as public deck areas. From our aft balcony on our 2013 Alaska cruise we saw dolphins playing in the wake some mornings, whales as the ship passed them, and spotted sea otters and puffins on our way through Glacier Bay. We will be on deck 15 on the NCL Encore, so pretty high up for surface water shots. I also hope to take a small boat whale watching excursion in Juneau.

I'm open to both tripod and hand held shooting as well as lenses from Sony or other brands and used or new. The a6400 does not have IBIS, so I think I would need a lens that has OSS. Budget is under $1000, but could stretch a little further.

And I'll also read through the "What to take to Alaska" post.

Thank you!

Edited by Firehunter

The 70-350 is actually a pretty good choice. It has stabilization and the 1.5x crop factor of the a6400 gives you over 500 mm reach. Quite enough for most uses in Alaska. Besides, hand-holding over 500mm is sometimes a bit tricky and a monopod or tripod on a boat, especially a tour boat is a little dicey .The 16-50 kit lens is better than it's reputation. It gets a lot of harsh criticism but I had very good luck with it when I was using it. If it's in your budget, the 18-135 APS-C lens has an excellent reputation and makes a superb walkabout lens. 

My 4¢

Dave

Edited by pierces
  • Like 2

13 hours ago, pierces said: