Where do I book and how? Hotels, Cars & parking OH MY!!

So here is our dilema, We are booked on the Oct. 21 CB and are driving down from Atlanta GA. Here are my questions?

1. Would it be better to rent a car and drive down to the port and drop car off so we are not paying for parking (which is how much per day if anyone knows), or should we drive our own car and then pay for parking?

2. Where is the best place to book a hotel? I have tried Expedia and they was $129.00 for an Amerisuites room that I see others for that time have booked for $75. If I booked through Priceline how would i know that I was getting something close to the pier and that they have shuttle service to the pier? Questions Questions Questions....

Please take into consideration that I am a complete newbie and I am sure that this information has been posted somewhere but it apparently escapes me as to how to find it. I know that I am annoying the CC gods somewhere..{slinking back under the rock I must have been living under...}

Thanks in advance!

Let's take it from the top. What is the CB. Where are you sailing from. How much would it cost for you to rent a car in Atlanta and drop it wherever you are sailing from. Then compare that cost to the wear and tear on your own car, the cost of parking, the convenience of not having to shuttle both ways, and whatever else you can think of. You can usually find the cost of parking by going to the Ports own website, but again we can't help with the information you have failed to provide.

Just for a moment, I'll assume that you are driving to Miami or Fort Lauderdale, so I can refer you to this thread which is right below your post.

http://boards.cruisecritic.com/showthread.php?t=276536