Help with planning a family Christmas cruise

Hi Regent sailors,

My husband and I have cruised 3 times on Regent and loved it. I am now in charge of planning a family Christmas cruise for my family. I need some advice on which cruise line to choose! If any of you have cruised on HAL, Princess or Royal Caribbean, I would love some input.

There will be 6 kids ages 4 to 15, moms and dads in their late 30's, grandpa in his 60's, aunts and uncles in their 50's. (I am one of the aunts.) Of course there has to be lots of activities for the kids, so that is why I am thinking of the cruiselines I mentioned. But I also want to make sure that the food and service is very good. That is where I need help. We are spoiled since the food and service on Regent is so wonderful. Since I have no experience on these cruiselines, I need to find out about their food and entertainment from others. By entertainment, I mostly mean the evening shows.

Have any of you cruised on these other lines and if so, how was the food, service, and the shows? Any recommendations?

Thanks,

Ginny

Hi Ginny,

I am helping my non-cruising friend plan a family cruise over the Christmas Holiday as well for her family of 14 - she's taking them all because it's a special birthday for her.

I looked at Celebrity, HAL, Princess and Royal Carribbean and I looked at the Carribbean (Round Trip for Fort Lauderdale) and Mexican Riviera (Roundtrip San Diego). I've sailed all but HAL. Since we're booking 2007 for her I have time, and I am doing a RCCL cruise again this summer with my granddaughters, so that will be more recent to compare to Regent.

In all fairness, I haven't cruised on any of the other lines since 2002, but I do know that the rooms will be all similar, the dining experiences maybe slightly better on HAL and Celebrity, but I think Royal Carribbean might be best for the variations in ages of the children. The ships are bigger.