Just back from the Shadow - mini review

dollymadison

First off, let me stress that I am a newbie to Silversea, so do not have any comparison to make with regard to former/current level of service. I have minimal cruise experience (4 previous with only one line). With those caveats, here is the Good, the Bad and the very Ugly.

The Good:

We loved the Shadow from day one. As previously noted here, the carpets were about the only thing that were showing their age and they were being replaced throughout the 11-day voyage. Our Verandah suite was lovely, the bathroom was fantastic, the verandah OK. Quite noisy out there if you had noisy neighbors. We actually ended up sandwiched in between travelling partners and so had some yelling back and forth, etc. That was fine.

Service overall was spectacular. It was, however, spotty. For some reason we had really mixed experiences at breakfast in La Terraza (as did others). We could sit for quite awhile without being helped. However, until the last day (this morning, more about that later), it was easily tolerated. Other that that, though, service was just amazing. We had some great moments with English-language difficulties: ordering a New York hot dog from Room Service and receiving a New York strip steak; ordering a Seagram's 7 and 7 cocktail at the Bar and receiving Southern Comfort and Sierra Mist, despite the bottle of Seagrams and the cans of 7-up sitting there; the Room Service waiter who consistently called my husband "Mrs. Smith"; and the other waiter who consistently called both of us Sir-Ma'am. We had alot of fun with those idiosyncracies. We felt from the start that there were quite a few very new employees on board. Given our overall experience and conversations with others, I believe that many employees had left in advance of The World Cruise and lots of training was going on.