Emerald Lake drive questions

Sisa

We are interested in doing the drive to Emerald Lake. However, we have a number of questions, and were hoping for some advice:

1) Nervous driver: Is the drive to Emerald Lake at all precarious (small mountain roads, hair pin turns, deep drops over cliffs, etc). I am a good driver, but a bit afaid of heights. I can't drive well on small mountain, hairpins turns roads.

2) What to do when we get there: we have a group of 8 people, ranging in age from 74 to 8. Once we are there, is hiking required? Some of us love to hike; others would be unable to.

3) alaskan dog camp: I have heard there might be a stop off to visit alaskan sled dogs, somewhere along the way. Is this possible to do on this trip? How long would this take?

4) How long does the trip take in general?

We appreciate any advice you can share with us. Thank you very much!

I have gotten some answers to the same quetions (as I haven't gone yet either but plan to) but don't want to post them since I'm not 100% the answers I got are correct. I'll watch and wait with you.

As far as what to do I will tell you we plan to stop in Skagway before we hit the road - probably before we get to the rental car place and pick up lunch somewhere. I have a collapsable cooler that I'm taking and we plan to have a picnic lunch at Emerald Lake. Any suggestion from those who have been to Skagway as to where to pick up sandwiches and drinks?

Can anyone recommend WHERE a good place would be at the lake? Are there picnic areas? Are they well marked? Are they restrooms?

The drive is quite easy. You can stop along the way - the entire drive is very pretty with waterfalls and mountains. You could do some short hiking near the road - what we did was not really "hiking" but just parking the car for 1/2 hour and walking away from the road to small lakes/ponds, taking in the beauty. The day we did it the weather was very nice.