Clearing customs

seiffann

You will need your passport or birth certificate & driver's license. You will get the customs form to fill out on the last night of the cruise. You just fill out general info about yourself and list the items that you bought.

I am new to cruising, what do they do at customs? And where do they check? I am on Conquest, and will be in western caribbean. What paperwork ( if any) do I need?

seiffann,

On the last day of your cruise you'll receive a Customs Declaration form with your capers. Info you'll need to enter is what countries you visited, and how much you spent on board and at the ports for items you're bringing back with you. It's simple info.

They'll check your passports or other forms of ID and you'll be on your way. Sometimes they'll ask specific questions about purchases and some folks will have their luggage searched.

Your identification is for immigrations, not customs.

Immigrations is for people; customs is for goods.

They'll let you know what you'll need and when you'll need it. They'll also let you know what the customs limits are (regarding how much booze, cigs, $$ limits) on what you can bring home.

You can probably even find out the limits before you sail just with a Google search. I know the limits are higher if you're stopping in certain ports (ie, St Thomas). Check Carnival's FAQ section. I believe they have a duty-free allowance listing.

Your identification is for immigrations, not customs.

Immigrations is for people; customs is for goods.

And at the customs counter when you are getting off the conquest tehy will ask for your identification to compare to your customs form. So you will need either your passport or your Drivers license.