Airfare thru Cruiseline or on your own?

TwoWeebles

I was wondering if there is any difference in price on airfare if you book it along with your cruise through the cruise line or if you book it separately on your own? Can anyone provide some insight?

Hey There,

I am a travel agent and i can tell you 100% to shop it. Half the time it is cheaper to purchase air seperately then from the cruise line. If you book air seperate you can still purchase the cruise lines transfers.

the biggest mis-conception in the industy is that if you miss your flight if you booked it with the cruise line you are protected. This is the farthest thing from the truth.

the only way to have protection is with adequate travel insurance. If you miss your flight there is not much to be done, the airline can try to help and the cruise line but they are under no obligation.

SO shop the air and dont let a myth make you pay more!

Fighting to save you money!

Have cruised many times and have always found my purchasing the air separately much cheaper. Plus I can pick and choose the airlines and times that I find convenient without paying some custom air/ deviation fees. If you want the convenience of someone doing the work for you fine. But you could have any travel agent do it more cost efficiently too.

I have always booked my own air travel when cruising. As the OP has said, you have much more flexibility when it comes to airlines and times to travel. And don't forget to arrive at your departure port at least a day prior to your cruise. The money you spend for a night in a hotel is far less than what you would spend to fly to the ship's second cruise stop. Happy cruising! :)