Car seat

neenie46

Hello,

I am completely new to cruise and we will be taking our first cruise in March with our 7 month old son. I am debating on taking a car seat. For one I'm worried it may get damaged during the flight and second it is a big to carry around at each port. My son is too long for the infant style car seats so we would have to take our big seat.

I was wondering what other families have done? We will be taking mostly bus tours but may have to take a taxi.

Thanks for the help!

Depends...did you buy a seat for the baby on the airplane, or are you flying as a lap child? If you are checking the car seat at the airport, you can put it in a bag to protect it if you aren't going to use it on the plane itself. We have checked our booster seats, they are usually free to check, and haven't put them in any kinds of bags, and have never been damaged. As far as using it on tours - that depends on the vehicle - whether they have seat belts, etc. When we used taxis in Mexico - seat belts were hard to come by. You will have to decide your comfort level on these types of tours...I am sure you will get lots of feedback on car seats and what kinds of seats are best for traveling with infants.

I grew up in a time when there were NO carseats for kids---and so did alot of others! We survived! ( I remember my brother in a playpen on the floor of the backseat!!!) I know there are alot of folks who wouldn't THINK of going anywhere without the kids strapped in and padded, but for the small amount of time they'll be travelling, it's up to YOU whether it's worth the lugging of the "equipment"!

You can't use a car seat in a bus--no seatbelts!

Our boys are now older and are out of car seats but it wasn't too long ago that we faced this issue.