1st River Cruise: Where can I stash all my stuff?

SchoolPsych

I am a total newbie to cruising and will be going on Vantage's river cruise to Holland & Belgium 4/26-5/7/2009. I found lots of info on what to pack (many thanks!), but not on how much to pack. We have a standard stateroom. How big can the suitcases be? How much do the closets/storage hold? Where are the suitcases stored? The rooms look pretty small and we tend to overpack. :eek:

On most ships, you can stuff your luggage under the bed, if the closest aren't large enough. Sometimes, you'll have to lift the bedframe, to get them under there, but they will fit.

Take less clothes than you think you'll need---you can re-wear things--no one cares or even notices! There will be times when you'll have something on for an hour or two--you can easily re-wear those things! You'd be surprised at how little anyone else will notice (about you) on a cruise!

Cruise ships do not have rules on the size of suitcases. The problem is fitting them in your cabin. There will be some storage space. Unless you get carried away, you stuff will go into the drawers and closets and your suitcases will fit under the beds.

Have done a Vantage river cruise - even though the cabins are small, there is LOTS of space - they have made use of every square inch and there is plenty of room. Vantage doesn't care how much luggage you bring - it is the airlines that will get you! We are leaving tomorrow for Oz/NZ for 3 weeks and are limited to 44 lbs each - that is just not enough! But we aren't about to pay for excess baggage - since it is an ocean cruise, we have elected not to do formal dinners or any dinners in the MDR - just to save on taking clothes which add weight.