Black Watch dep Sydney to S'hampton 4/3/16

malags

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Cruise Critic but hoping I will find some answers to my questions from you 'experienced FO cruisers’.

My OH and I have booked ourselves onto the Black Watch for March 4th 2016, departing Sydney back to Southampton.

I have to admit it was a ‘spur of the moment’ thing, we don’t generally book anything that far in advance, but the dates happened to suit us.

We are flying into Adelaide 3 weeks beforehand, renting a car and driving (slowly!) along the coast road up to Sydney to join the cruise. I contacted FO about the possibility of putting at least one piece of baggage aboard when the BW leaves Southampton so as to not get burdened with excess baggage charges when we fly out. The reply I recv’d wasn’t confidence inspiring as it amounted to ‘try phoning again in a couple of months as our policy has yet to be reviewed for 2016’. Given they encourage bookings over a year in advance, that seemed an odd response.

So, any ideas as to practical, cost effective alternatives should FO decide that we can’t lodge our baggage with them in advance?

And, rather disappointedly, it seems that FO does not offer an ‘all inclusive’ drinks package on this particular cruise. I admit I haven’t (yet) phoned and asked, but wonder if that is other people’s experience? If so, do they offer a ‘wine package’ on board similar to P&O – where you can buy a selection of (6) wines at reduced cost?

Any hints and tips regarding the ship, itinerary, excursions etc etc would be most welcome. Our only previous (limited) cruising has been with P&O (Arcadia and Aurora) and we’re both a trifle concerned that the BW may not be up to the same standards….?? Too late to change now though! Lol. But, all in all we’re looking forward to the trip.

Oh, BTW, we’re both around the 70 mark, but still (thankfully) fit and healthy!