Visa for New Caledonia

nmarsha

I am an Australian resident on a Sri Lankan passport and have recently discovered that I require a visa for visiting New Caledonia.

I am aware that Australian passport holders do not require a visa however passport holders from other nationalities (including Sri Lanka) do.

My cruise is booked for early January 2010 and I do not have sufficient time to obtain the visa given that I live in Melbourne and I am required to attend the French Consul in Sydney in person to obtain the Visa. Earliest appt is mid December.

Has anyone else travelled without a visa and what are the repurcussions.?

Thanks

Neil

If you do not have the required visas, you will not be allowed to board the ship and you will not receive a refund of the cruise fare. Some think that if they promise not to get off the ship a visa isn't necessary, but that's totally false. Once the ship is in the waters of a country, you're considered to be IN that country and therefore you must have the proper documentation. I know of a couple who were going on a cruise that included China and this poor couple didn't know they needed a Chinese visa, and when they arrived at the cruise terminal and the check in staff saw they didn't have the visa, they were not allowed to board the ship and lost their cruise fare.

Thanks for the comments and advice. Unfortunately the only way to obtain a visa is by attending the French Consular office in Sydney in person and to this I need to make an online booking appt, earliest is mid December and apparently visa issue is minimum of 4 weeks after that and can take up to 3 months.

I will therefore be cancelling my booking and salvage whatever money I can.

Thanks

Neil

• 1 month later...

Good news is that we can travel after all, we are considered in transit passengers in New Caledonia and therefore do not require visas. This is because the stay at the 2 islands of New Caledonia is less than 24 hrs.

• 2 weeks later...

Dear Neil.