Emerald Princess - Boarding Time

JDKMunch

Hi - This is my first time sailing on Princess cruise lines and have a question about how early I can get on the ship. Were leaving from Ft. Lauderdale and would like to be one of the first people on the ship. I've sailed over 15 times on RCI and usually got on early being a Diamond member. Without any special treatment what time should I get to the dock?

Thanks!

Can't wait - with all the cutbacks RCI has been doing lately were excited about going on another line.

I understand on Princess, you can go directly to your room and drop off your carry-ons, then go to lunch. Is this accurate? On HAL and RCCL, you have to keep your carry-ons with you until they open the staterooms, normally around 1400. So you're sitting in the buffet with your carry-ons at one table and you at the next.

I understand on Princess, you can go directly to your room and drop off your carry-ons, then go to lunch. Is this accurate? On HAL and RCCL, you have to keep your carry-ons with you until they open the staterooms, normally around 1400. So you're sitting in the buffet with your carry-ons at one table and you at the next.

When you board a Princess ship your cabin is ready. No toting around bags like other ships.

On the Ruby, we arrived Ft. lauderdale port at 11:15pm. We were asked to sit in the waiting lounge until noon and we were given numbers (we had #3). At noon they began calling people by the numbers assigned.

Check in was faster than any RCCL or Carnival cruise I've taken. It's very nice how they have the check in proccess divided by decks, so they are about 8-10 lines with different deck names on top. You go to whichever deck you have.

Once you board the ship, your cabin is already made. That is the main reason why they don't allow boarding until noon. No reason to wait or have lunch before you leave your stuff in your cabin. We loved it.