Freedom of the Seas June 12-19 VERY LONG

Here it goes. Thought we would share our family's experience as reading here at Cruise Critic has been so helpful to me in planning this cruise. We have cruised once before 10 years ago on a Disney cruise/park combo. Although I had been on a previous cruise we did not do much on prior cruise so this was much like a first cruise to many of us. I had a great learning experience as I was the unofficial "TA" & "Cruise Director" for my family.

A little background this cruise was planned for my parent's 50th wedding anniversary. There was 21 of us on our cruise and covered every age group from the teen's through 70's. The traveling crew:me(44),my parents(70),DS(48),BIL(55),niece(13),DB(37),SIL(34),BF(52),BF's son(21),BF's daughter(19),DD(25),DS(21),DS(21),DD(15), Aunt(72),Uncle(71)(also celebrating their 50th anniversary),Cousin(48),cousin's BF(51),cousin's daughter(18) & EXH(60). What a motley crew! 6 of our crew were total newbies.

We all flew in from around the country starting on Thursday(5 from KY), Friday afternoon(8 more from KY),Friday evening(1 from Chicago),Friday late(3 from CO),Saturday afternoon(2 more from CO) & Saturday night(2 from IN). We had booked hotel rooms in Orlando & rented minivans in Orlando & Sanford to get to the port. Dropping luggage & passengers at the terminal & then turning in rental cars worked really well & went very smoothly. Cost was definitely better than any shuttle prices I was able to find and was convenient to have a rental during our stay in Orlando.

We got to the port around 11 unloaded & lines were moving fast in the terminal. Embarktion took only about 30 minutes maybe even less. I was able to stick a luggage tag on a case of bottled water that was delivered to my room with my luggage. Carried on 2-12 packs of soda(Mountain Dew & Diet Dr Pepper) that were not questioned at all. Also used our rum runners & all 7 made it through.