just got home from Alaska Cruise

Dan G

I just got off the Oosterdam on HAL from Alaska. First of all it rained every day so that was a bummer. Only sun we saw was leaving Seattle and returning. That was a surprise. Bring a hat or ear muffs as it was only 39 in Juneau. Clothes, and jackets were really cheap in Alaska ports so no worries. I found shore excursions on HAL to be ridiculously expensive. In Juneau there are shuttle busses to Mendenhall glacier for $8 each way and the cruise bundled that with something else for like $70. There was so much emphasis on shopping vs sightseeing I was amazed. The port maps given out by HAL listed the jewlery stores and said nothing of where the sightseeing may happen. This may be common but I'm a newbie so was shocked on the emphasis on buying. It was early in the season but the weather sailing around Vancouver Island was pretty rough and some people got seasick. Going into Tracy Arm the captain stopped before getting to the glacier as there was too much 'ice' so we never really had the Glacier Bay type experience, a lot of us was expecting. Overall it was an ok trip but certain things would have been a lot nicer if the weather had cooperated. I was frustrated with a very short port call in Ketchikan (we left at 12:30pm) and the late arrival into Victoria 9 pm vs 7pm so all shore excursions were cancelled. I'd love to do this trip on other lines or from Vancouver to compare.

Unfortuantly on the Alaskan cruises, you can almost count on rain and more rain. If it does not, then you count yourself lucky.

We did the Norwegian Star last year R/T Seattle and had a blast. It rained on us everyday except coming and going out of Seattle. Next year we are doing NCL Sun which leaves Vancouver and goes to Whitter. Seems to be better port times (longer). So it will be a nice comparison for us as well.