Would a Travelscoot help me?

sugarking

I drive a Pride Go Go. I am a very poor driver, probably because I never learned how to drive a car. The Pride Go Go is cumbersome and weighs a lot. I want to know if a Travelscoot would help me.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

I have a travelscoot. I also have a large rascal scooter that I obtained from the VA. The best thing the VA did for me was have me evaluated by a physical therapist. I got a chair that has a hydraulic seat lift since I have trouble standing from a low height. I also found out during the evaluation that for me an electric wheelchair would not be a good choice as I need my feet to be very close to the chair to sit safely. I was also tested on upper and lower body strength and mental ability to operate the handle, etc. All of that said, the Rascal is very heavy and requires a lift on my car to transport it. It also has a large footprint. I don't have any idea how much it weighs but would guess about 200 or more lbs. I now use it in my neighborhood but don't travel with it, even to the grocery. The travelscoot has been wonderful for me, given my particular limitations. It does not have a reverse but that does not pose a problem for me. There are rumors that the next model will have a reverse gear. The only other complaint I had with the scoot was that the seat was uncomfortable. We fixed that when my husband had the seat reupholstered. He had extra cushioning applied and I am now sitting pretty. I would recommend that you call the company and see if there is someone living near you who will allow you to take a test ride. It is so easy to take my scooter anywhere I wish to go.

The travelscoot is a wonderful piece of equipment, it will not however make you a better driver I am afraid. Practice helps in this regard, other than that I don't know.

Katisdale is correct on most of the points she makes, however the Travelscoot is indeed, according to their website, available with a reverse gear!