Transportation from healthrow airport to cruiseport. 70 miles. What is best and cheap

Egans

Heathrow to Harwich is one of the more difficult UK airport-to-ship transfers by public transport because there's no direct route - you have to travel into central London, cross the centre, then take the train to the ship.

This is one of the few journeys where I'd recommend checking out the cruise line's transfer coaches direct from airport terminal to ship terminal. They have a fleet of coaches, there'll always be one trawling the airport terminals at any given time in the morning so whatever time you arrive there'll be one along soon.

Or a private transfer, someone like http://www.simplyairports.co.uk/ though I've no experience. For four that might be cheaper than ship's coach.

This website gives you a bit of background,

http://www.londontoolkit.com/travel/heathrow_harwich.htm

But the alternatives that it mentions have flaws:

- the privately-operated cruise bus (not ship-sponsored coaches) runs from Heathrow hotels, not terminals. And if you miss the bus you lose your money.

- the National Express coach / train combo via Colchester & Manningtree is no fun, and coach frequency is poor.

- using the tube from Heathrow or even to just cross central London is no fun with luggage.

- For four of you, Heathrow Express to Paddington station then taxi to Liverpool Street station then train to Harwich will be more expensive than either ship's transfer coach or a private transfer.

(btw, the private transfer operators advertising on that website tend to be expensive, get several quotes)

As an Irish friend of mine would say, "the best way to get to Harwich is not to start from Heathrow" ;)

JB :)

ps to Welsh Dave. What gives, Dave? Up with the larks? Or the same insomnia as me? ;)

Edited by John Bull