Excursions

gregrob

It depends (yes, I'm a lawyer:rolleyes: ).

We do a mix of ship's tours and booking our own. Sometimes you can only book a particular tour through the ship - a semi-submersible in Sitka (save your money), the America's Cup Regatta in St. Maarten & the culinary tour in Cozumel are three examples.

In many, many instances, however, you can not only save money but, MORE IMPORTANTLY, IMHO, get a much more detailed and informative tour with an EXPERIENCED, KNOWLEDGEABLE tour company. Example: Denrus and Red October are two companies that give (reportedly) fabulous tours of St. Petersburg for less money than offered by the cruiselines.

You want to be absolutely certain, however, that you're dealing with a company with a good reputation that's been around for awhile. Otherwise, that $15pp you are "saving" could turn into an expensive venture if you're late getting back to port or have an accident because of poorly maintained equipment.

I go to the Ports of Call and find out what Cruise Critics are saying, then I ask my CC friends that I've met on the board or on cruises what they do/recommend, then I decide what to do. The less time we have in port, the more likely I am to book through the ship if I'm in an unfamiliar area.

Your research should include finding out the operator's cancellation policy in case you miss or are late getting to your port, or what weather conditions will cause them to cancel (I'm thinking in particular of the flightseeing tours in Alaska).