Volcano National Park

2Xayear

Planning to do this tour but wondered if it is better to rent a car and DIY or book with NCL and do it that way?

I am an avid photographer and want to take lots of shots. Does the NCL tour offer lots of opportunities to get off the bus?

Although I cannot tell you about the tours, I advise you to rent a car. (Make a reservation)

It is an easy drive of 45 minutes to the park and you can make as much stops and as long as you want.

My husband also takes lots of photos and was very happy with the rentalcar.

On the way back we had some time for a detour to the "boilingpots" and "Rainbowfalls" near Hilo.

Most rentalagencies have shuttles to/from the port (Avis didnot).

I'd add to MikeKaye's list the following:

closed toe shoes (no sandals)

long pants - less damage if you DO fall on the lava.

Rental car is going to be more flexible an you'll be able to stop where YOU want to get a picture. DH is also an avid photographer and gets very frustrated when he sees a good photo op and is on a bus that isn't going to stop where HE wants to stop...

Definitely do it on your own.

If you've got 'em, a good pair of hiking boots is best for the lava. I rubbed the top of a nylon shoe against a patch and it tore pretty good. That stuff can be really sharp.

• 2 weeks later...

I just did this tour booked through NCL on 12/17/06. Really liked the bus driver, VERY informative and knew everything about the park, you wouldn't get that history renting a car. We stopped at all major spots to walk around, take pics etc. They also stop at Mauna Loa macadamia nut factory on the way back. YUM! Never knew they had so many ways of flavoring them, think I spent at least $50 there!

Aren't macadamias AMAZING?

Thank goodness for Australia, where they actually come from. :)

Ever wonder why you never see a macadamia nut with the shell still on?

You almost need dynamite to open the shell, it'd break your nutcracker