NCL vs. other lines...Questions???

kirindy

I went on my first cruise ever on the Pearl to Alaska on 6/24/07. We had a fantastic time!

I want to go to the Caribbean next summer (I am a teacher, so can only travel in summer). NCL doesn't seem to have much of a Caribbean itinerary in the summer. Therefore, I've been looking at other lines, even though I REALLY love the whole freestyle thing.

I've noticed that the other lines recommend your tips for everyone, and it adds up to about $17 or so pp/per day. Their cruises also seem more expensive than NCL, especially for suites/minisuites. Can anyone tell me if $17/day/pp is normal?

How do other lines compare to NCL?

I know I've only been on one cruise and have nothing to compare it to, but we really loved NCL. Thanks in advance!

I honestly don't know anything about the tipping. I will tell you though that I have only sailed NCL and Princess. NCL works well for us because of the Freestyle Dining which makes life with the kids very easy. I absolutely LOVED my Princess cruise but I did not like the assigned seating and eating with the other 2 couples EVERY night, that got old fast!

The customer service on Princess was outstanding. It was back in 2002 so things might have changed, but they called us a few weeks before our cruise and upgraded us from an inside cabin to an ocean view for FREE- needless to say we were thrilled! We loved all of the crew, they were the nicest we have ever encountered.

WE love NCL too though, just a different experience! I will continue to sail NCL with the kids, but would consider a Princess cruise if it is just DH and I. We would just request a private table. Keep in mind Princess tends to be a bit more expensive.