looking for tips on Mediterranean cruise

zender

Greetings. I'm going on a two week private cruise on the Norweigian Gem next summer. Ports of call include Rome, Naples, Sicily, Santorini, Ephesus, Istanbul, Athens and Valletta.

I'm basically a cruise novice having only sailed once so far to the Caribbean.

Looking for pointers - guide books, shore excursions, etc. Thanks!

Best tip I could give you is to NOT do ship tours.Book your own.

We did own own with 4 others from the CC med board and we saw so much more than those on the big buses. You will pick up all the info (as we did ) on the Med forum.

Are there any good travel guides that you all recommend? I will definitely check out the mediterranean forum.

I'm looking for ideas for enjoyable and memorable things to do while at sea also. My first and only cruise so far was pretty disappointing - Carnival Ecstasy four days with a single stop in Cozumel. The ship broke down and was very late arriving back in Galveston. I thought that the food and service, which I'd hoped would be above par, were both pretty disappointing.

I've been lurking here for sometime now and it appears that NCL and their freestyle cruising is pretty highly regarded. I'm also hopeful since I'll be on a much newer ship.

Are there any good travel guides that you all recommend? I will definitely check out the mediterranean forum.

I'm looking for ideas for enjoyable and memorable things to do while at sea also. My first and only cruise so far was pretty disappointing - Carnival Ecstasy four days with a single stop in Cozumel. The ship broke down and was very late arriving back in Galveston. I thought that the food and service, which I'd hoped would be above par, were both pretty disappointing.

I've been lurking here for sometime now and it appears that NCL and their freestyle cruising is pretty highly regarded. I'm also hopeful since I'll be on a much newer ship.

if you didn't like Carnival you probably will not like NCL ;)