when to buy tickets//Westerdam questions

jvalentine

Hello All!

I new to this board and wanted to ask some questions to all of you cruise experts! My husband and I would like to take the Alaskan cruise out of Seattle next June on the Westerdam. When is the best time to get tickets? I'm looking at rates for this June and they look great...should I expect something similar for next season? Is it fairly reasonable that the rates will drop from what Holland America is posting now for June 2009? Also, this will be an anniversary cruise for us. What room recommendations do you guys have for the best viewing up there? I, like everyone, want to get the most bang for my buck and want to make sure I'm informed. I appreciate all of your help!!!

Thanks!

Jacquie

Hi, I am not an expert, I have only been on 4 cruises. A travel agent is your best resource, and I registered with a few online websites and get their emails. I have found that prices are best almost a year out, but I seem to get really good deals about 4 months before departure time. It seems to go up around 90 days away, then drop about 3 weeks before departure, but you usually get the hard to book cabins in undesirable spots on the ship. I did that once, right next to the engines and port jets, the room shook like an earthquake when ever we came into a port and loud:eek: I like this website alot and it has great links to online agents and agents that are members are very wise and helpful.