Newbie Here: what should I know?

Hi!

I'm new to the boards and want to know everything. We don't have a cruise just yet, we know we're going but want something during a holiday in 2009. Thanksgiving or just before Christmas. Looking to book very soon.

What should I know? Any suggestions on a cruise? ;)

p.s. we want to leave from Port everglades or Miami. I've heard the waters are choppy from NY?

thanks a bunch!

Welcome to cruising!

I have only cruised with Royal Caribbean & it has always been great, so i would recommend them.

I think your best bet would be to go in November near or during Thanksgiving. I think you would probably get better rate. November rates seem to always be very good. Early December is great, but if your cruise crosses over to Christmas and ESPECIALLY New Years, the rates go up quite a bit.

Also, typically, in November, its still pretty warm in Florida, so when you go down to the Caribbean, the weather won't change a lot. I went on a cruise in March once when it was still a little cool in Florida (50's/60's). When we hit the caribbean it was in the high 80's. When we got back, my sinuses were all messed up :(

You need to know that the cabins will be tiny, unless you spring for a suite of some sort. And get a cruise brochure from whichever line you're going to cruise with--it has a ton of info that will be helpful, and the deck plans, so you can get excited getting aqquainted with your ship!

As far as choppy seas--it can be choppy or smooth as glass--that's up to Mother Nature! The larger ships handle small chop very well. Try to book your room near the midships area, so you won't' get so much "up and down" motion.

And don't stress about cruising! (Alot of folks do!!) It's a vacation, pure and simple. There's no right or wrong way to do it! Just go, and enjoy!