Worried About Latest Check-In

brendrek

Obviously, I'm a cruise newbie. When I booked our airfare I didn't realize just how close I was cutting things. We are scheduled to land in Miami airport at 12:59 PM. We purchased the Carnival transfers from MIA to the Port of Miami (a 15 minutes drive from what I've read). Ideally, if the plane lands on time I'm thinking it will take an hour to; get our luggage, wait for a transfer bus, and get to the port. That only leaves an extra half hour for "what if's", hence my concern.

From reading the boards, I've learned it's best to fly the night before your cruise (although this wasn't possible in my case for work reasons). I'm just wondering since the ship doesn't leave port until 4pm, is last call really 2:30PM? If a plane full of passengers gets delayed will they wait?

I'm not worried about missing lunch on the Lido, or getting on the ship before anyone else. I just don't want to miss embarkation.

Well, the "plane full of passengers" won't all be on your cruise ;) Chances are, you'll be fine... did Carnival book your air or did you? if you did, I doubt they would wait for you... but don't stress out too much about it... think positive... if you can't change your flight, that's really all you can do is think positive. Are you cruising in the winter? from the north? that would be my only big concern. Have a backup plan in case your flight is delayed. Do you have a connection? Just know about all the flight options, etc. Oh, and make sure you have travel insurance. Good luck and try not to stress!!