leaving kids for 1st time...any tips?

MamaParrotHead

Kids will be 5 and almost 2 when DH and I take our first cruise (for 7 days). They're staying with my mom, and they and "Nana" are really close. Problem is, this will be the longest time away from them (we've only done overnights previously, and less than a handful of those) and we're a rather close family. I am a professional child care provider, so the kids basically are with me 24/7, except once a week or so when DH and I hire a sitter for the evening.

Any tricks or tips, for me OR them, to make this smooth for everyone? I don't suppose my cell phone would work onboard, even with roaming charges, huh? and I read that pre-paid long distance cards are useless. are there even phones on the ship? how would my mom get a hold of us if we were at sea and there was (GOD FORBID) an emergency?

thanks!

You're a braver person than I am. My DH couldn't convince me to leave them, even overnight, until mine were about 14 & 11. They were 20 & 17 when we went on our 1st cruise last January.

Even then, the only reason I agreed to go was because I knew I could email from the ship. The $75 charge for the internet package was well worth it to me to be able to check in with them daily. Does your Mom have email capabilities? If so, that might be the best route to go, at least on a daily basis. Depending on which ports you are stopping at, you might be able to call once or twice, too.

By the way, it really doesn't get any easier. I worry about them just as much now they're young adults as I did when they were just little. The kinds of problems just take on a different scope -- now I have to worry about girlfriend/boyfriend issues, driving, etc. Good luck, and have a great cruise, and try not to think too much about them!