Advantages of having TA

yapmom

I am looking forward to my first cruise, a 13 night cruisetour from vancouver ending in fairbanks on Coral Princess. The TA cannot get a better deal than what I have been offered from Princess direct. I am planning on using airline miles to fly. What is the advantage of having a TA? I have never used one for any of my airline travels before. With me being a newbie, I want to do what's best for my dh for our 20th anniversary. Thanks for your help.

Kim

I had the same questions you did. I booked a 7-day Vancouver to Anchorage cruise and used airline miles for both my air and my friend's. My TA couldn't do any better than what I could do online, but I went ahead and booked with her. One, she took care of everything - figured out my transfers - negotiated a better cabin - figured out my excursions - made sure my flight stuff lined up...I just felt better using her...then if there are problems, I know everything was handled in one place. It's funny because generally I'm MORE comfortable just doing my own thing and making my own reservations and doing it all online, but for this being my first cruise, I just felt better knowing she could help and knew what she was doing.

Thanks, that's part of my problem. I am a bit OCD, and like to be in control. I like to plan everything out. When are you going? We are planning to go on the 13 nt cruisetour on June 15th from Vancouver on Coral Princess.

My TA belongs to a travel consortium where they provide on board credits, gifts, included shore excursions and parties with free drinks on many cruises on most lines. Plus, whenever there's a problem, he takes care of things so I don't have to hassle.

Hi Kim,