Alaska Cruisetour Advice

musicmatters

We are currently looking at Alaska cruisetours for the first of July....

Holland America has one with just 3 days on the ship and the rest a land tour and Princess with 7 days on ship and 4 days land tour. What is your opinion on which would be the best for our first trip to Alaska?

I'm a newbie and have just started to read through the threads - here's one that might give you some pointers: http://boards.cruisecritic.com/showthread.php?t=924851.

In some preliminary research, I believe for once in lifetime experience best to do combination land tour and cruise, in that order. And apparently the princess cruises have monopoly - which means less travel time btw land sites, etc.

I posted additional questions on same thread and hope others can help. Good luck and I'll be subscribing to this thread also.

PS - you might want to check out: Alaska By Cruise Ship, Anne Vipond, 6th edition. Just checked it out at library and very informative ;)

I booked with Princess for a cruise tour in May. It did come highly recommended both on this board and others I have spoken with. It was strongly recommended that we do the tour first then cruise. This way you are not packing and unpacking at the end of the trip. Princess has a great offer right now where you stay 1 night in Seattle, then fly from Seattle to Anchorage, 2 nights at Denali and 2 nights at Mckinley Princess lodge, a nature tour at Denali (you can see about upgrading to the Tundra Wilderness Tour) This is recommended by many on these boards, as is taking just a shuttle at Denali national Park. The cruise is 7 days, ending in Vancouver. They will then shuttle you back to Seattle to catch your flight home. I am looking forward to this trip, first time to Alaska and first time with Princess.