Staying Down Town La

pitcairn

The Wilshire Grand is a fine hotel. Just a question-Why are you staying in Downtown LA? I prefer the Bonaventure, with it's great views and hipper night life. The Wilshire Grand is old world elegance.

No matter where you stay, make sure you eat at the Pantry, just down the street. Oldest continuously opened restaurant in LA. Nothing fancy, just great steaks, chops, and breakfast. Very reasonable prices. Lines have been known to be around 2 blocks, so take your patience with you. You never know who you may see in line. Lot's of "who's who" people eat there.

A place for lunch where the food is really good and reasonably priced in downtown LA is Sam's HofBrau on Olympic. They have exotic dancers, which is not my style, but I have frequent business meeting there. I am in the logistics business and there are several trucking companies and the produce market within 4 blocks. I have been eating there for almost 25 years, if that says anything.

Greatam

thanks for the info on the wilshire and eating, thought that away from the beach life would be good after the cruise and as the wife and friends will

hove the shopping bus we were told that area was the place to stay and

the wilshire was pulled out of the hat

greetings from Scotland

Are you on a package tour??? What shopping bus are you talking about???

Rodeo Drive is about 15 miles (or more) to designer shopping. Long, crappy bus ride.

If shopping is the reason you are staying in downtown LA, I would move to the Century City or Beverly Hills area. Away from the beach, but MUCH closer to shopping, great restuarants, sightseeing, etc. In downtown LA, the only shopping that is available are the new "malls" (real rip off's IMHO) attached to the hotels and the garment district. But the garment district is mostly restricted to who you know to get in. And like most businesses, M-F.