Suites with Grand Pianos

stravi

How does one make use of a grand piano in a luxury suite if one is not a pianist?  

26 members have voted

1. 1. How does one make use of a grand piano in a luxury suite if one is not a pianist?

• We don't. It's a waste of good space to have a piano in our suite.
    • We don't use it but it's pretty to look at.
    • The concierge can arrange for a pianist for you for extra $$$$$.
    • It is electronic. You choose the type of piano music from a selection of cds.
    • It's basically useless.

I am new to cruising but am hopelessly hooked!

However, I am quite curious about suites that list a grand piano as one of the amenities.

If you don't have an Elton John or Liberace in your party, does the ship provide someone to play for you? Just typing that question makes me feel ridiculous!

Are any of the pianos possibly equipped with electronic player devices making it a "Jetson-age" player piano (which would be my personal preference) ?

Thanks in advance for any insight into this topic.

Sharon:confused:

Only the largest suites on the mass market lines have grand pianos. No, they do not provide someone to play for you. The PH suites on Celebrity have a Yamaha Disk Laviere, as do the Royal Suites on the newer Royal Caribbean ships. In all our cruises in those suites, I've never found the disks that you insert into the player that plays the piano (I have a Disk Laviere at home and could bring my own disks, but those pianos can be incredibly loud and they do disturb the cabins around you). I believe the Grand Duplex Suites on Cunard's ships have the piano also, as do the largest suite on the newer NCL ships.