paying it forward--review of northbound cruise 6/28-7/5 and DIY land 7/5-7/13

allisons

I am paying it forward. Everyone on this board was so helpful to me in planning our Alaska vacation over the course of the last year. I will review our trip in detail. I hope this information will be helpful to others.

Caveat: I have never written a cruise review before. This was our 21st cruise, and I'm not going to start now. I will not include any reviews of the cruise aspects of the vacation. However, I will review what we did in the various ports.

PRE-CRUISE:

Vancouver:

Hotel Moda – C - got a good rate on Hotwire, good location, good restaurant, clean, small room, small bed, small bathroom, no view

Downtown - hop-on-hop-off bus - C - bought a Groupon, not much to see in downtown Vancouver, busses are not double deckers, tour is pre-recorded

Stanley Park – hop-on-hop-off bus - B - included with the downtown loop, good driver/guide, good tour, good information, good stops

Granville Island - hopped off of the bus, walked to Granville Island market, hopped back on the bus - B - lovely market, interesting area, had planned to purchase food and picnic but the timing didn't work out, would like to do that in the future

Dinner – Hotel Moda Cibo Trattoria - A - we were surprised at how good it was, nice wine selection, good Canadian wines, delicious food, perfectly cooked fish, good service

Breakfast – Tim Horton’s - A - good food, healthy options, nice selection of hot teas, good donut with maple frosting, not as good as Krispy Kreme

Chinatown gardens - both public and paid - A - beautiful gardens, we took the guided tour, very interesting, our favorite thing in Vancouver, would do this again

CRUISE:

Ketchikan:

7:30-9:30 a.m. Taquan Air Classic Misty Fjords Flightseeing Tour - A+ - exceeded our expectations, amazing experience, wonderful pilot, wonderful tour, breathtaking scenery, perfect take off, perfect landing, perfect flying weather, highly recommend