Temperature of Food?

gehrandt

We were on the Star recently and noticed that most of the time the food was not very hot, and in some cases cold (lobster and drawn butter, baked potato, etc.). Tasted good and well presented but I don't remember the problem a few years ago on the Sun. In most cases it wasn't worth complaining about and the one time I sent something back our waiter quickly brought me roast turkey that was piping hot (potatoes were warm).

I realize that they are serving a lot of people at once but I could see where at times this could be a health issue. And I know I'm a nut about having hot things hot and cold things cold. We didn't eat at the buffet so no idea how the food was there. Has anyone else noticed this? Or is it just me?

I am a chef BTW. I would be VERY concerned on food not hot on the buffet. That would indicate more than one of the most important elements for the growth of bacteria existed: temperature (improper) and time. However, if your food from the MDR was cooked to order and was hot, but sat for five minutes before it was served to you and got cooled off, it is more of a nuisence than a health hazard. And I am not saying it was okay. Just this week I was served chicken fried steak with cream gravy (okay, I'm in the south) and the gravy was cold. Yuk! Of course I complained and they replaced my order, but I was a little frustrated at that point. If this happened to you, time after time, I expect you were too.

Seems the servers are short-staffed, which might be for various reasons. The back of the house (chefs) and the front of the house (servers) have to support each other to deliver to the guest. Sorry this was not the case for you.

As long as the food delivered to my table is luke warm, I am satisfied. I understand and aware that we are not at a cook to order restaurant, that food on a cruise ship is massed produced.