Newbie question about IS class on Carnival

kittyness

Hi,

I'm new to cruising and this site. My husband and I are booked for a 7-night W. Carribbean cruise on Carnival Conquest. We thought we would save some money on the room and put that toward excursions so we booked an IS room. What kinds of rooms have you been assigned when booking IS? Is it a bad room 100% of the time? Have we made a big mistake?

Thanks!

I answered your other thread.

http://boards.cruisecritic.com/showthread.php?t=1337968

Carnival does upsells, so they will try and move people to all the higher inside cabins and then whatever is left is what they will assign. Iv been on the bottom two decks, my last two IS gtys.

The only real difference is convenience. If you are higher up, you can just run up and down a flight or two of stairs, but when you are all the way down, you pretty much need to take the elevator everywhere .. just be prepared and bring your patience.

Thanks for the info! After reading the threads about noisy cabins, shaking, etc., I was beginning to think we were going to be put in the worst possible place. Now I'm a bit more optimistic. :)

You very well may be put in the worst possible place. My son & daughter-in-law got a cabin at the very front of the ship that had twin beds that could not be pushed together due the cabin configuration. On the other hand you could get a good location. For myself I like to pick my location, costs a little more but worth it to me.

You have received the best of both answers. Since this is your first cruise, you have nothing to compare and realize your Inside cabin will have no windows and probably be a little smaller but definately servicable; twin beds are a possiblity but all other on board services are the same. Go with it for the savings and then maybe next time splurge for a higher category.