How strict is Carnival on Cancellations?

Atty

I would like to book for this July on a 7night Mexican Riviera but may have something pop up on short notice that I cannot avoid (I'm an attorney and may end up in trial).

I know Carnival's cancellation policy for the time period I'd be most likely to have to cancel is like 50% of the fare or the deposit whichever is greater.

My question is how strict are they on this and is there any way for me to avoid a penalty if I'm forced to cancel? My best guess is that if I had to cancel, it would be between 30 and 60 days before sailing.

Thanks for the help.

I'd suggest you buy trip insurance that lets you cancel for any reason. Whatever the insurance premium is, it'd be way less than the 50% penalty the cruise line would assess. Check out insuremytrip dot com.

I'd suggest you buy trip insurance that lets you cancel for any reason. Whatever the insurance premium is, it'd be way less than the 50% penalty the cruise line would assess. Check out insuremytrip dot com.

Yep....this is the way to go. Without trip insurance Carnival probably won't do a thing for you.......they do after all have a business to run. Get trip insurance!!

I would like to book for this July on a 7night Mexican Riviera but may have something pop up on short notice that I cannot avoid (I'm an attorney and may end up in trial).

I know Carnival's cancellation policy for the time period I'd be most likely to have to cancel is like 50% of the fare or the deposit whichever is greater.

My question is how strict are they on this and is there any way for me to avoid a penalty if I'm forced to cancel? My best guess is that if I had to cancel, it would be between 30 and 60 days before sailing.

Thanks for the help.

As an attorney you should know the answer to this, of course they are very strict, but your solution is to buy cancel for any reason insurance. Sure it costs a little more but then you don't have any worries.