Bear watching late July - Anan Creek or Neet's

janets

We currently have Neet's Bay booked with RCCL. They have one other Bear Watching tour but do not say where it is

Does anyone know if there is a major difference between Anan Creek or Neet's Bay?

Cost is not an issue

Hi,

I am a novice cruiser, so my answer is based upon the knowledge I have gleaned from these boards.

There are many (5 pages) of discussions regarding the bear-watching opportunities in Alaska, but this thread seemed close to what you were looking for:

http://boards.cruisecritic.com/showthread.php?t=143820&highlight=Bear+Watching

The bear typically do not become visible until July through mid-September when the salmon are running.

Anan seems to be the favored site, provided you are there at the right time of year due to the types of bear you see there.

Neets Bay is also good for Black Bears - again, depends upon the time of year.

Anan allows you to see Brown Bear

Neets Bay are only Black Bears

There are other, more knowledeable folks here on the boards that will help you with the various times of the year these sites are best for, but hopefully, this is a start. :)

Hi again

The Alaskan Bear Adventure that the Cruiseline offers is run by Taquan Air.

If you do a google search, you can find their website and read their explanation of the Alaskan Bear Adventure tour.

They also fly to Anan, but this is not offered through the cruiseline.

They do not fly to Neets Bay.

Anan is good for July - Brown Bears can be seen there.

Neets Bay is good for August - mid Sept. Only Black Bears at Neets Bay.

Anan Creek is the number 1 bear tour in Southeast Alaska. It is mainly black bears but there are a number of brownies that fish there as well. One of the only places where you have the chance to see blacks and browns at the same

time in the same creek.

Neets Bay is a fish hatchery. That's why they run a bear tour there. Good chance to see them. Not too bad a price.