St Petersburg Private Tour

I posted this originally on the Europe Port of Call but then found this site. I'm new to Cruise Critic and am finding it is a great source of information. Wish I had found it years ago.

My question is:

Four of us are considering taking a private tour in St Petersburg rather than the ship's tour when we dock the first week of July. Two companies have been recommended - Red October and Odyssey Tours. Has anyone had experience - good or bad - with Odyssey? It may also be know as Travel in Russia.

When I do a google search and follow the links I end up on the Travel in Russia website.

Thanks for any help

The two main independent tour companies are Den Rus and Red Oktober. Of these I recommend Den Rus based on personal knowledge of those involved and knowing how having a very good tour company can enhance a visit to my adopted city of St Petersburg. If you have any questions about the city, tour stops or history, I would be happy to answer them from my experience since I moved to St Petersburg a couple years ago from my native San Francisco. There so so much to see and do, that a flexible tour guide or tour company can really make a difference in how much you enjoy and learn about the city on your visit.

The more you learn about the city the more facinating it becomes and it becomes evident that it is the jewel of the Baltic region and all of Eastern Europe. Depending on your interests, you might be one of us who thinks it is the most beautiful and romantic city in the world, although a lot of people hold out for Paris receiving that title.

I've posted lot of long messages about dining, sights and culture of Russia and St Petersburg over the last few months so check out the prior posts for additional information.

Have a great visit.