A Somewhat Live ‘Novel’ Review of the 9/1/13 Freedom of the Seas Cruise

A Somewhat Live ‘Novel’ Review of the 9/1/13 Freedom of the Seas Cruise

Preface

Having read a few books set on cruise ships, and having cruised numerous times on various great ships, I’ve often thought a cruise ship makes a great setting for a novel...and I confess to having kind of a fantasy about writing a novel...so about two weeks ago, after a couple of glasses of a really nice merlot with dinner, I had this great idea to write a cruise review in that format...like a novel. Apparently I hadn’t had THAT much wine that evening as even the next day I still thought this would be a fun thing to do. And now, 2 weeks later, I still seem to be committing to undertake this crazy project!

Hence, I am posting this Somewhat Live Novel Review of our 9/1/2013 cruise on the Freedom of the Seas. I am calling it a ‘Somewhat Live’ review because I’ve never done this before, so I’m not sure exactly how much time it will take or how ‘live’ it will be. But I do have the best of intentions. And I have a nice MacBook Pro. And I type fast. And Freedom does have shipwide wifi. This is also an odd cruise in that it’s an itinerary we’ve done many times and we have virtually no excursions planned so far. We have the option of just hanging out on the ship in port if we want, so I’m thinking the time factor will not be major and perhaps this little endeavor could be a fun part of the cruise experience.

So...before I begin, let me explain that we are Judy and Buz, from Oklahoma City. We are retired from our ‘real’ jobs and we, along with 2 great partners, have our own business importing and selling cultured pearls. (Gems of the sea!) Our heavy retail season begins late in September. We always book a cruise this time of year (risking hurricane season!) because it’s an easy time for us to be away. We love cruising, we call ourselves ‘shippies’ and this 9/1 cruise on Freedom is our 17th on Royal Caribbean.