An Epic-ly Good Second Time on the Epic: A Review from 1/18/15 – 1/25/15

dolita22

We are getting 6-8 inches of the fluffy white stuff here in Wisconsin today, so what better way to spend a snowy day than reminisce about our week on the Epic in the warm, sunny Caribbean a few weeks ago? I’ve never written a review on Cruise Critic before, though have contributed by responding to posters’ questions, so please bear with me. What’s included in this review are our thoughts and impressions; others may have different experiences. I’m hoping to post a few pictures at the end of the review, either tonight or in the coming week if I can figure it out, though I have more island pictures than inside-the-ship pictures.

Background: My DH and I are nearing our mid-30s and have sailed NCL before – once for him and twice for me. I’ve also cruised Carnival and RCCL, and he’s sailed on Azamara. We got engaged while sailing the Epic in 2013 and wanted to sail once more before the ship moved to Europe for the foreseeable future. We sailed RCCL for our honeymoon last year, but decided NCL fits our cruising persona better. RCCL just doesn’t do Freestyle as well as NCL, IOO (in our opinion :). We are pretty easy to please in general, but travel frequently and know what we like.

I may throw in a few comparisons between the two lines, but for the most part, this review will focus on our week-long Epic sailing from January 18-25, 2015.

I won’t review day-by-day details, but instead will review by bits and pieces, ranging from our room to service to ports and excursions, along with other items in between. And yes, I will finish this review. It’s still snowing and we are hunkered down for the day/night, so it will be completed!