Balcony room worth the price & OWB recommendation in Moorea.

Little Rascal

Hi,

I’m new to Paul Gauguin cruise line but I have heard so many wonderful reviews from friends over the last 20 + years and we are finally booking a 10 day cruise for next June. I have a few questions.

1) I’m thinking also of booking a few nights in Moorea in a OWB at the beginning of the cruise. (After reading some post from here on when to do it). Which one do you think is the nicest experience?  

2). Is the Balcony upgrade worth the price from the ocean view cabin?  Does the ship have nice areas to sit if we don’t get a balcony room?  I had read here that they are on the small side. The trip is expensive overall but it looks so beautiful. 

Thank you for any comments. 

I do not suggest the balcony.  The standard balcony rooms are the same size as the E level cabins (200 square feet) but of course have a small balcony.  Tons of great areas on the ship to enjoy the view.  For the approximate $2k per person difference I would not do it.

We have done Moorea both pre cruise and also post cruise.  I personally prefer post cruise and then add in the day or so before the cruise on Tahiti.  I prefer this if you international flight leaves in the evening.  In this way you stay on Moorea until the last ferry and head to the airport.  If your flight is an early flight (usually around 7:00 am) prefer Moorea first.  In this way you get off the ship at around 4:30 am and head to the airport.

You need to leave the ship by about 10:00 am on your last day.  If you do Moorea first you have to figure out what to do on the last day, with your luggage, if you have a late evening flight.  Options include trying to get a day room at a hotel (very iffy if you can get one), take a tour on Tahiti and have the tour operator keep your luggage for you, or rent a car and explore).

• Like 1