Grace Smith is Seeking Advice

Grace Smith

The only cruise I've ever taken was back in 1974 Italy to New York on the Leonardo DaVinci...$99 for an 11 days crossing, bottom of the boat, no port hole & bunk beds. :eek: Needless to say, I was a student then and this still looked deluxe next to Youth Hostels that I frequented as I toured Europe.

I've never thought about taking a cruise, because though I'm a good traveller, I'm not a good relaxer. I think I'm ready to "dive in" though and try it. Last year my husband and I did Prague, Vienna, Budapest and Belgrade with the train. We had a wonderful trip, but at times it seemed like work. I've pretty much decided that though expensive, the way to go is with a smaller ship. I've narrowed things down to 1st choice: Seabourn and 2nd choice: Silversea.

On Seabourn, I've narrowed down the possible itineraries to :

June 30th 2007: Monte Carlo to Rome

July 7th 2007: Athens to Venice

July 14 2007: Venice to Rome

I'm not even sure whether they are all available at this point. I want to travel from the end of June through mid July and I want to disembark somewhere in Italy, because from there I'll be travelling to Zadar, Croatia. (Train & Ferry are preferrable to flying).

Any hints, tips or advice would be so helpful.

Thanks!

Grace:)

hi2.gif Grace Smith and welcome to the Seabourn forum on Cruise Critic.

Myself I have had service problems on my Sliversea cruise. But the service on my first Seabourn cruise in Nov was the best of my 17 cruises.

The main reason I got into cruises in the 80s is I wanted to unpack once and for my hotel :p to take me to wonderful places.

Others will talk about the cruises and ports that you are interested in, but if you have any other general cruise questions feel free to ask and we wil be happy to answer them.

If you do book Seabourn, leave your email addy and somebody on here may have a "ref" card worth $400 on your ship board account. :)